Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Dumping database results and doing checksums Post 302922156 by Samuel12 on Wednesday 22nd of October 2014 08:25:03 PM
Old 10-22-2014
sum seems to be doing the trick. can someone comment on what it does im still researching .

how is it that if i go into a large file and change one letter it picks up that change? what is behind that?

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Dumping files to tape

Can anyone please help.... how can I dump just a single file to tape using the ufsrestore command!!! I'm a newbie to unix and It's driving me mad.. Thanks in advance. (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Jonathan
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Dumping multiple Folders

How would i go about dumping my /home/ directory and my /root directory i currently have..... dump -f /root/backup.dp /home/ /root/ ...but dump only seems to see only my first source directory and not the second (/root in this case) anyone know a way around this..or if it is even... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Freakytah
1 Replies

3. BSD

Checksums in Microsoft FTP Server

hi, I wanted to know from anyone out there a way to perform a checksum command on a Microsoft FTP Server for a file and compare this with the checksum of the file that was transferred from a Unix machine. Thanks, Erick (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: ewhindle
0 Replies

4. BSD

Checksums in Microsoft FTP Server

hi, I wanted to know from anyone out there a way to perform a checksum command on a Microsoft FTP Server for a file and compare this with the checksum of the file that was transferred from a Unix machine. Thanks, Erick (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: ewhindle
1 Replies

5. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Dumping network packets