Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Renumbering files bash script Post 302920334 by Akshay Hegde on Wednesday 8th of October 2014 11:23:16 PM
Old 10-09-2014
Try

Code:
#!/bin/ksh

for i in *.txt; do

[[ "$i" = */* ]] && path="${i%/*}" || path="."

file="${i##*/}"
        base="${file%.*}"
	ext="${i##*.}"
	new=$(printf "%s/%s-%04d.%s" $path ${base%-*}  $((${base##*-}*2-1)) $ext)

# remove echo cp if you feel result is as expected	
	echo cp $i $new

done

Usage

Code:
ksh yourscript

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

renumbering user id

Other than deleting and recreating a user can a users id number be changed? I need to have my user id the same on more than one system. (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: thumper
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Renumbering files scripting help!

I am new to the world of UNIX scripting - and would like to make the following script: I have 100 files numbered 1-100. However - i would like to continue the file list - so that I add another 100 files following on, so that file 101 = 99; file 102 = 98 ; 103 = 97 and so on.... (basically ...... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: AJC1985
6 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Bash script - integrate two files

I wrote script in bash which generates this report "users.csv": I wrote script in bash which generates this report "groups.csv" I want to integate two reports: "users.csv" and "groups.csv". I want like so that "result.csv": Thx (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: patrykxes
5 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Again integrate files - bash script

I wrote script in bash which generates this report "users.csv": I wrote script in bash which generates this report "groups.csv" I want to integate two reports: "users.csv" and "groups.csv". I want like so that "result.csv": (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: patrykxes
2 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

column renumbering