Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Merge two files and add the count Post 302916292 by Don Cragun on Monday 8th of September 2014 03:15:48 PM
Old 09-08-2014
You've been asking for our help for well over 5 years.

What have you tried to solve this problem on your own?

What utility (or utilities) do you think would be well suited to solve this problem?

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

MERGE 13 files and add the file name at the end of each record

Hi Gurus, I have 13 comma(,) seperated files that i have to merge and create a single file which has file name attached at th end of each record in the out put file. Can any one please help me with writing a unix script with this issue? test1.dat BIG ID,Local ID,Bond... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: vkr
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to merge and add?? Two Files

Sorry noob here...... I have 2 files like this: File A 8080000001 400 8080000002 300 8080000003 200 File B 8080000001 600 8080000002 200 8080000004 200 I want one file where File OUT 8080000001 1000 (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: Unice
6 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Merge files of differrent size with one field common in both files using awk

hi, i am facing a problem in merging two files using awk, the problem is as stated below, file1: A|B|C|D|E|F|G|H|I|1 M|N|O|P|Q|R|S|T|U|2 AA|BB|CC|DD|EE|FF|GG|HH|II|1 .... .... .... file2 : 1|Mn|op|qr (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: shashi1982
2 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Merge files and add file name to the end of each line

Hello everybody, I'm trying to merge a lot of files, but I want to include the filename to the end of each line. I've tried to use cat, but I got stuck. My files are for example: file01.001 123456 aaa ddd ee 458741 eee fff ee file02.003 478596 uuu ddd ee 145269 ttt fff ee ... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: ernesto561
4 Replies