Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers RHEL6 Terminal Charset Encoding Post 302914554 by Corona688 on Tuesday 26th of August 2014 02:56:28 PM
Old 08-26-2014
What terminal are you using?

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Unix charset

Hi, How can I find out the charset on a Unix server (SUNOS 5.2)? I tried locale charmap and returned 646. What does 646 mean? If I send an xml file with encoding="utf-8", should the server be able to handle the file, even with special characters in it? Thanks. (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: iengca
0 Replies

2. SuSE

sqlldr : charset conversion while loading ?

Hi, I am a newbie to Linux(Suse).I am facing a problem with 'sqlldr' utility while trying to upload data to Database tables.My backend is Oracle and is using the UTF8 encoding format.I am trying to load a datafile which contains some Western European Characters.While loading am getting an... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: DILEEP410
0 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Problem identifying charset of a file

Hi all, My objective is to find out the charset using which a file is encoded. (The OS is SunOs) I have set NLS_LANG to AR8MSWIN1256 and spooled the file. When viewed the file using vi, I saw the following \307\341\321\355\307\326 I then inserted the line containing these codes in a... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: sridhar_423
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to find the file encoding and updating the file encoding?

Hi, I am beginner to Unix. My requirement is to validate the encoding used in the incoming file(csv,txt).If it is encoded with UTF-8 format,then the file should remain as such otherwise i need to chnage the encoding to UTF-8. Please advice me how to proceed on this. (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: cnraja
7 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

Likely charset issue with tree command?