Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Remote reboot script
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Remote reboot script Post 302914480 by ratheeshp on Tuesday 26th of August 2014 06:14:04 AM
Old 08-26-2014
Remote reboot script

I'm a beginner in shell scripting and doing simple scripts for work requirement.

Code:
#!/bin/bash

for blade in  `cat machines.txt` 

do

rsh  $blade 'reboot'

done

but when I try it with root password it's throwing error saying permission denied.We're using same root password for all the machines.
Does this work or is there any other way to reboot machines remotely using script?

RA

Last edited by Franklin52; 08-26-2014 at 07:24 AM.. Reason: Please use code tags

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Solaris

different between soft reboot and hard reboot

Hi Guru's Can any want here could explain to me the different between soft reboot and hard reboot . Best Regards Seelan (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: seelan3
3 Replies

2. Linux

Run a script during reboot/startup

Hi all, i have a script in /etc/init.d directory. -rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 26 Mar 28 16:00 myscript I need it to run when my linux reboots/startup. However is it not being executed. Do i need to put in in the rc.local directory? (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: new2ss
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Script to Reboot and Confirm

On my Solaris box I have to reboot some devices like below. However I think this can be done through a script. I've create a list that contains the devices IP addresses. Here's the logic: Reboot 4 devices and sleep for 5mins(300s.) While the devices are rebooting, I would like to confirm... (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: ravzter
9 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

script to reboot multiple hosts

Hi Expert, How to create a script to reboot multiple hosts in linux? Thank you. (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: regmaster
5 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

Reboot script issue