Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Find command
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Find command Post 302910894 by Maddy123 on Monday 28th of July 2014 08:18:07 PM
Old 07-28-2014
Hi Don ,

Thanks for helping me understand the use of find command. I know its a basic command in Unix but
since i am new to unix i wanted to clarify it with experts like you in forum and then implement it.

So wanted to clarify my doubts here prior to implement in production box.

<Without a space between trc and -mtime , it will give you a syntax error. >
actually it was my typo.while copy & paste it just happened.

my requirement was to find all files ending with file name '.trc' older than 90 days and delete them ultimately.
So the command should be like
Code:
find . -name '*trc' -mtime +90 -exec rm {} +

<You have a huge set of tools available to you. Play with them. Learn how they work by playing with them>
Can you name some tools and how to use them?

Regards,
Maddy

Last edited by Maddy123; 07-28-2014 at 09:28 PM..

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

command find returned bash: /usr/bin/find: Argument list too long

Hello, I create a file touch 1201093003 fichcomp and inside a repertory (which hava a lot of files) I want to list all files created before this file : find *.* \! -maxdepth 1 - newer fichcomp but this command returned bash: /usr/bin/find: Argument list too long but i make a filter all... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: yacsil
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Little bit weired : Find files in UNIX w/o using find or where command

Yes , I have to find a file in unix without using any find or where commands.Any pointers for the same would be very helpful as i am beginner in shell scritping and need a solution for the same. Thanks in advance. Regards Jatin Jain (10 Replies)
Discussion started by: jatin.jain
10 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers