Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Replacing partial content of a file. Post 302909309 by itkamaraj on Wednesday 16th of July 2014 04:56:24 AM
Old 07-16-2014
try with nawk (instead of your sed command )

Code:
nawk -F: -v url="$ECIFSERVER" 'BEGIN{OFS=":"}/service.url/{$2=url}1' environment.properties > tmp.properties

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Replacing a paragraph between pattern , with the content 4m another file

hi, i wanted to put the output of file f1 into the pattern space of file f2 f1: wjwjwjwjwjwjwj //these line go in file f2 jwjwjwjwjwjjwjw wjwjwjwjjwjwjwj f2: Pattern_start __________ //these are the line to be replaced __________ Pattern_end i m... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: go4desperado
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Query for replacing a string and keeping the non-replaced content

Hi experts, As i am a novice unix player...so need help for the below query...banged my head from quite a while...:confused: i have a set of html files, in which i need to search for string "Page"(case sensitive) and then replace the same with some numeric code ,say, "XXX1234". Here in... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: rahulfhp
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Replacing content from a list

Okay, so I am not quite sure the best way of going about this. I have a whole stack of files that need items replaced with a code corresponding to it. In particular, I am looking to replace the names of countries with the two letter iso country code. The files themselves are in csv format with... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: johnlee
4 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

AWK - Print partial line/partial field