Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers How to extract date from a file? Post 302908178 by clx on Friday 4th of July 2014 09:23:16 AM
Old 07-04-2014
Have you tried something? What you can think of for the approach?

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

extract date portion from file

Hi, I have a file where there is a date field (single line variable length file) how to extract just the date portion from it the position of date field may vary anywhere in the line but will always have the format mm-dd-yyyy for eg . xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx09-10-2006xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: misenkiser
5 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Extract Date from file

I am new to unix scripting. we are using bash. My task is I have dir which contains 30 files. The first column in each file is Date field. For all the files I need to extract the date part Ex(2007-09-05) from the file and add that at the end of that file. for example: The file names are... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: magi
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to extract date with time from file

Hi, I have a file where there is a date and time field, the format for it is yyyy-mm-dd hours:mins:sec the position of date field may vary anywhere in the line and it might be different and it is specified along with the variable AppTimeStamp how do i extract date and time both from the... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: prash_b
5 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Extract Expiry date and server_name from the following file

Hi Guys, I am trying to write one ksh script where I have to go to lots of unix boxes and read one text file which will have data like this though this is not complete data. And I just have to extract expire date ( which is 2nd date value 08/31/2009 in the first one ) and the server name ( astro... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: pareshan
0 Replies