Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Conditional Script
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Conditional Script Post 302907574 by vrupatel on Monday 30th of June 2014 07:40:57 AM
Old 06-30-2014
Thanks Vishal & Rudic for your inputs. Vishal I tried you code and its gibing me below error:

Code:
update.sh[2]: ^M:  not found
' unexpected: syntax error at line 10 : `in

I am calling script as
sh update.sh 1
sh update.sh '1'
sh update..sh "1"

all 3 commands are giving me same error

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

creating a script using the case conditional

hello, i am a newbie who is just starting to use liunx, and I need to accept a string from the terminal and use case to echo a suitable message if the string doesn't have at least 10 characters. Also, how would I do the same thing using expr? (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: soccerstr1
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Confusion over a small conditional script

Hi, I was going through a file containing hundreds of lines of codes having conditional statement written as: log() { echo $@ } num=$(/usr/bin/rsh <one_machine> -l root 'ls -d /home/user/db* 2> /dev/null' | wc -w) (( num > 0 )) && log "db info:" so,if here the return value(stored in... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: amit4g
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Conditional Date Script

I am learning Unix for the first time. I am playing around with my default profile file to add some script in the KSH. The time format is GMT and I am in eastern time zone. I am trying to script some greetings based upon the time of day using the IF/ELIF conditions. I am getting errors. I have... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: cpd259
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

unix script for conditional execution