Sponsored Content
The Lounge What is on Your Mind? Can anybody learn how to code? Post 302905196 by wisecracker on Tuesday 10th of June 2014 08:18:30 AM
Old 06-10-2014
_Speaking_ as a complete amateur I would say anyone can do simple coding.

But if you intend to learn coding then shell scripting is a good place to start as there is a utility for just about everything you would want to do.

It is easy to get into bad coding habits but seriously difficult to get out of them.

You do not need a doctorship in mathematics but a good approach to working out your logical intentions is a must.

To learn, (I started shell scripting in Jan 2013), I jumped in at the deep end with a project I was interested in.

Hitting hurdles was great especially trying to solve them, and, although I always solved them the big guns on here voluntarily provided often much better solutions of which I have been grateful.

If you show you have had a go at any piece of code and come up against a problem _we_ will help solve them, preferably giving you hints rather than actual solutions as you learn that way.

I have learnt a few languages over the years but shell scripting is now my language of choice.

Good luck...

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Where to Learn About HP-UX

can someone give me the link to any site that deals on HP-UX system administration?? Please do not refer me to buy or borrow any books, i just need a free site to learn some quick info from (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: TRUEST
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

I want to learn!

Hiya, yes im new to all of this! But want to learn how to use Unix etc, iv been thinking about doin a course but desided im better off learning by my self with help from the people who really no what there doin...you guys! I can install Linux, like redhat, mandrake, susie server edition and so... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: epic.admin
5 Replies

3. Programming