Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users Linux Swapping - identifying the process Post 302900381 by fpmurphy on Tuesday 6th of May 2014 12:49:13 PM
Old 05-06-2014
In that case, you need to add more memory to your system.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Swapping questions

How can you tell how much a Solaris box is swapping? At what point do page in and page out become a problem? Here is a vmstat output. > vmstat procs memory page disk faults cpu r b w swap free re mf pi po fr de sr m0 m1 m2 m3 in sy cs us sy id... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: 98_1LE
1 Replies

2. Filesystems, Disks and Memory

Paging and Swapping

Hi Guys: Would like to know how to check system swapping and paging and some theory on how they function. I am an oracle dba and my environment is 8171 on AIX 433. We have a 1GB of RAM on the box and I am educating myself to see how much more SGA can be accommodated on the box and what are the... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: ST2000
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

how to get swapping info

Hi How can I determine if swapping is occuring on a server. Thanks, Leo (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: leo
2 Replies

4. SuSE

Swapping

Hello! Why does my SuSE GNU/Linux machine swap? I have a Gig of ram, currently 14MBs of free RAM, 724MB - buffers and caches... That is 685MB of cached RAM, then kernel really should'nt have to swap, It should release cached memory in my thinkin... It has only swaped 3MB's but still,... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Esaia
3 Replies

5. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Swapping in VI editor

Hi, I am attempting to replace several similar words with another word in vi. Here is what I have written for the script: 3dTcat -prefix SuperBrik_4WAY_HRF ../JULY10_2007A/results2TENT/stats.JULY10_2007A+tlrc ../JULY10_2007G/results2TENT/stats.JULY10_2007G+tlrc... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Jahn
1 Replies