Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Splitting file - custom req.
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Splitting file - custom req. Post 302894395 by bartus11 on Tuesday 25th of March 2014 10:14:03 AM
Old 03-25-2014
Try:
Code:
awk -F"|" -v OFS="|" '{x=$4;y=$5;NF=3;print > "MYFILE_"x"_"y".dat"}' My_file.dat

This User Gave Thanks to bartus11 For This Post:

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Filesystems, Disks and Memory

veritas vcs \ file system docs req.

hi if anyone has docs (corporate internals on how to setup vcs mfor example, especially with Veritas VM, pleas let me know..i need exposure experience in this area of Enterprise Administration thanks jasmine (SCSA & MCSE) (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: jasmine_uk
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

(Req)Shell script req

HI All Im new to shell scripting...kindly plz help me... I need a shell script for: We have to take export of all db's on daily basis from all svr's and keep these export backups on diffrent server. Plz help. Regards Gaurav (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: ergauravtaneja
5 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Populating File data with custom manipulation on file names

Hi, I am confused how to proceed firther please find the problem below: Input Files: DCIA_GEOG_DATA_OCEAN.TXT DCIA_GEOG_DATA_MCRO.TXT DCIA_GEOG_DATA_CVAS.TXT DCIA_GEOG_DATA_MCR.TXT Output File Name: MMA_RFC_GEOG_NAM_DIM_LOD.txt Sample Record(DCIA_GEOG_DATA_OCEAN.TXT):(Layout same for... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: Arun Mishra
4 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Split a file and give custom names

Hello, I want to split a file based on an input list file that contains the lines each split should have + a corresponding file name. #!/bin/sh # sed -n 'start_line_#,end_line_#p' my_input_file > lines_extracted_output_file while read a b c do sed -n '$a,$bp' myLarge.file > $c.split... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Gussifinknottle
2 Replies