Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Getting ls content into a file using variable Post 302894042 by balajesuri on Sunday 23rd of March 2014 09:44:43 AM
Old 03-23-2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by chinababy
hi i just cant figure out how can i do this ls -lt > log.txt using $PWD
what i mean is how can i get the ls command content into a file using $PWD variable? Smilie
Please explain a bit more.. $PWD contains the current working directory.. How do you intend to use this information?

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

redirecting variable content to a file!

Hello! I'm having problems trying to extract the contents of a variable and placing it into a text file. Grateful for any help. Been trying something along the lines of: $variable > file.txt or `cat < $variable` > file.txt As you can see I'm a newbie to this :D (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: lloowen
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How to assign the content of a file to a variable?

Hi all, I have a problem here. I have a file and let we take the content of the file is just '32' (only a numeric value in that file). Now I need to assign this numeric value ( value in that file) to a variable. Is that possible? If so, can you plz advice me on this? Thanks in... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: iamgeethuj
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Variable of Content From Part of Other File

I may not being doing this description justice, but I'll give it a try. I created a mailx script; there will be several messages using the same script where the only difference is the content. So I figured I'd make the content of the message a variable retrieved from a separate file. I have five... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: royarellano
5 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to get content of a variable into text file (sed)?