Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users Place the results of a CUT command into a variable Post 302891747 by Don Cragun on Friday 7th of March 2014 05:10:36 PM
Old 03-07-2014
Is this a homework assignment?

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Setting the Results of a Command to a Variable

Hi, Hi, I run the command: hostname to get the host back from the server: db201 Now, I need to take that result and set it to a variable. Can anyone help me with this?? I need to be able to use the same script on multiple servers so I do not want to hardcode the hostname result into... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: stky13
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Cut Command value assign to variable

Hi, I am new to UNIX Scripting. I have been trying to use the CUT command to retrieve part of the header from a file and assign it to a variable. I have tried searching a lot, but I am still unsuccessful. Sample Header: HJAN BALANCE 20090616 I need to retrieve the date here, which always... (10 Replies)
Discussion started by: ragz_82
10 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Extract and place in variable

If i wanted to extract the number of collisions from the eth0 section of the ifconfig file and have the output placed in a variable how would i do this? I can get the output displayed using: /sbin/ifconfig eth0 | grep "collisions" What command would i now use to place the output in a... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: warlock129
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Place 'find' results within TeX command

Hi, In an effort to collect all my .java-files and place them in a LaTeXfile (using the listings environment of latex), i tried to use ex. So what i have now is: find . -name "*\.java" > latex ex latex <<HERE %s/\(.*\)/\\lstinputlisting{\1} wq HERE So i try to escape the '\' with... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: HannesBBR
1 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting