Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Need a script to check if an argument is valid shell variable Post 302888041 by pingiliarjun on Wednesday 12th of February 2014 11:07:33 AM
Old 02-12-2014
This is what I have written but I am not sure if it is correct as I am new to UNIX
Code:

#!/bin/sh
FirstChar = cut -c1 $1
if [FirstChar -eq A-z] || [FirstChar -eq a-z]|| [FirstChar -eq '%']
then
    Echo "yes"
else
    Echo "no"
fi

Let me know if it is correct.

Thanks

Last edited by vbe; 02-12-2014 at 12:08 PM.. Reason: code tags...

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Checking the valid paths in the shell script

Hi i am using a shell script for renaming the files and placing in the remote location(FTP) my code is: cd $1 day=$(date +%d) for i in `ls -1 BBW*` do last=`tail -1 $i` pat=`expr "$last" : '.*(\(.*\)).*'` pat=`echo $pat | sed 's/ /_/'` pat=$pat$day mv $i $pat rm -f $day done... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: srivsn
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

how to assign script argument to a variable

I have a script file. test.sh I am running it by command sh test.sh 10102004 where 10102004 is the script argument. I wan to assign this 10102004 to a variable. How can i do this? I tried &1 and awks ARGV its not working :( (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: rohankit
2 Replies

3. Homework & Coursework Questions

Bash shell - Check if value is valid directory.

1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data: The script usage will be as follows: library.third source_directory - Your script will display an appropriate error message and exit with status 3 if no parameters are given - Your script will display an appropriate error... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: netmaster
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

how to check for valid password