Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Merging two files in UNIX
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Merging two files in UNIX Post 302875988 by Akshay Hegde on Thursday 21st of November 2013 10:34:32 AM
Old 11-21-2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by bharathbangalor
Hi akshay ,
let me post you the actual data. PFA the data for the above specification.
Kindly help me !
If you could explain relationship between sample data posted in #1 and actual data attached in #3 I will try to understand what you are going to do.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Merging 2 .CSV files in Unix

I need a little help as I am a complete novice at scripting in unix. However, i am posed with an issue...:eek: i have two csv files in the following format@ FILE1.CSV: HEADER HEADER Header , , HEADER 001X ,,200 002X ,,300 003X ... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: chachabronson
6 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

merging files

Thanks in advance I have 2 files having key field in each.I would like to join both on common key.I have used join but not sucessful. The files are attached here . what i Want in the output is on the key field SLS OFFR . I have used join commd but not successful. File one ======= SNO ... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: vakharia Mahesh
6 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Merging files

Hi i have two files say file 1 contents are A B C D E I have file2 contents are B E F G C K I want to have new file like A B (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: ssuresh1999
4 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

merging two files

Friends, os: redhat enterprise linux/SCO UNIX5.0 I have two files and I would like to merge on given key value. Now I have tried with join commd but it does not supporte multiple delimiters. and if records length is not fixed. join -a1 5 -a2 1 -t -o file1 file2 > outname Can any... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: vakharia Mahesh
7 Replies