Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Extract values from a specific column to the end Post 302872159 by Don Cragun on Thursday 7th of November 2013 07:32:50 PM
Old 11-07-2013
Assuming that your input file line lengths don't exceed LINE_MAX limits on your system, the following seems to do what you want:
Code:
awk '{  for(i = 18; i <= NF; i += 2)
                printf("%s%d. %s %s", i == 18 ? "" : " ",
                        (i - 16) / 2, $i, $(i + 1))
        printf("\n");
}' file

If you want to run this on a Solaris/SunOS system, change awk to /usr/xpg4/bin/awk, /usr/xpg6/bin/awk, or nawk.

PS Is there anything in this script you don't understand?

Last edited by Don Cragun; 11-07-2013 at 08:37 PM.. Reason: Add note.
This User Gave Thanks to Don Cragun For This Post:

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

I need to extract last column of a file and compare the values

Hi, I am new to unix and I need help in solving below mentioned issue, really appreciate ur help. I have a file sam, john, 2324, 07142007 tom, thomson, 2343, 07142007 john, scott, 2478, 07142007 its a comma delimited file, I need to extract the last column from each line and this... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: vukkusila
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to extract first column with a specific character

Hi All, Below is the sample data of my files: O|A|571000689|D|S|PNH|S|SI sadm|ibscml1x| I|A|571000689|P|S|PNH|S|SI sadm|ibscml1x| O|A|571000689|V|S|PNH|S|SI sadm|ibscml1x| S|C|CAM|D|S|PNH|R|ZOA|2004 bscml1x| ... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: selamba_warrior
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

to extract specific values twice in a file