Sponsored Content
Homework and Emergencies Homework & Coursework Questions Help fixing my database script Post 302867185 by CarloM on Wednesday 23rd of October 2013 03:33:47 PM
Old 10-23-2013
At least proof-read your code before you ask - it's not even consistently wrong (or consistently formatted, which would make it a lot easier to read for us, and might help you notice some errors).

A couple of pointers though:
  • That particular if line is actually fine (syntactically, at least), but your case statement is wrong. Look up the correct syntax.
  • You have a whole bunch of missing then and fi in your if statements.
  • I'm not sure if you're expecting the command-line arguments to be in arg1, etc, or those are being set somewhere else, but for shell scripts arguments are in $1, $2, etc.

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Shell Script: want to insert values in database when update script runs

Hi , I am new to linux and also also to shell scripting. I have one shell script which unpacks .tgz file and install software on machine. When this script runs I want to insert id,filename,description(which will be in readme file),log(which will be in log file) and name of unpacked folder... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: ring
1 Replies

2. Linux

fixing with sed

I am trying to replace the value of $f3 but its not working . I don't know what I am missing here . cat dim_copy.20080516.sql | grep -i "create view" | grep -v OPSDM002 | while read f1 f2 f3 f4 f5 f6 f7 f8 f9 do echo " $f3 " sed -e... (13 Replies)
Discussion started by: capri_drm
13 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Fixing corrupted vcard files.

KDE's Kontact PIM breaks quoted-printable vcard files because it linebreaks in the middle of a word. Take this text for example: NOTE;CHARSET=UTF-8;ENCODING=QUOTED-PRINTABLE:=D7=A9=D7=95=D7=A8=D7=94 =D7=A 8=D7=90=D7=A9=D7=95=D7=A0=D7=94.\n=D7=94=D7=A9=D7=95=D7=A8=D7=94 =D7=94=D7= ... (7 Replies)