Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting File Manipulation - UNIX script Post 302863999 by jakSun8 on Tuesday 15th of October 2013 02:56:18 PM
Old 10-15-2013
Thanks for the prompt help!

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Unix Shell Novice - File Manipulation

Hi, I am brand new to unix and am hoping someone can start me in the right direction. I want to be able to put the results of a file command such as wc -l filename into a variable which I can then use to test against another variable...i.e. I need to show the nth line of a file, but need to... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: nmullane
3 Replies

2. Linux

string manipulation in unix

Hi, I have a question . I have script which gets info from db2 engine. The script is cat sample_substitute.sh CNTR_NM=`db2 -x "select CONTAINER_NAME ,usable_pages from table( SNAPSHOT_CONTAINER('TST103',-1)) as SNAPSHOT_CONTAINER, syscat.tablespaces where tablespace_name = tbspace and... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: capri_drm
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

perl script file manipulation

Please let me know.. How to manipulate the data from two files..? I have two files, file1 has two columns one is variable and second is description. file2 has five columns first column is variable and last one is description..Appreciate the help I need to overwrite the description from file1... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: ddk2oo5
5 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

UNIX - File/Table/Data manipulation

Hi, I have a table (e.g.): a 1 e 4 5 6 b 2 r 4 4 2 c 5 r 3 7 1 d 9 t 4 4 9 . . What I need to do is to set the values of some values in column 2 to negative values. For example, the values 2 and 9 should become -2 and -9 in the modified file. How should I go about... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: pc2001
2 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

Shell script text file manipulation.