Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting File Manipulation - UNIX script Post 302863611 by jakSun8 on Monday 14th of October 2013 10:27:17 PM
Old 10-14-2013
File Manipulation - UNIX script

Hi,
I have a file about 100 lines. Each line is about 2000 characters (each line is fixed length). In middle of each line is following constant value

Code:

Now, I want to go through each line and increment by 1.
So, line 1 will have 586
line 2 will have 587, line 3 will have 588, so on and so forth.

Thanks,
JaK

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Unix Shell Novice - File Manipulation

Hi, I am brand new to unix and am hoping someone can start me in the right direction. I want to be able to put the results of a file command such as wc -l filename into a variable which I can then use to test against another variable...i.e. I need to show the nth line of a file, but need to... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: nmullane
3 Replies

2. Linux

string manipulation in unix

Hi, I have a question . I have script which gets info from db2 engine. The script is cat sample_substitute.sh CNTR_NM=`db2 -x "select CONTAINER_NAME ,usable_pages from table( SNAPSHOT_CONTAINER('TST103',-1)) as SNAPSHOT_CONTAINER, syscat.tablespaces where tablespace_name = tbspace and... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: capri_drm
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

perl script file manipulation

Please let me know.. How to manipulate the data from two files..? I have two files, file1 has two columns one is variable and second is description. file2 has five columns first column is variable and last one is description..Appreciate the help I need to overwrite the description from file1... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: ddk2oo5
5 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

UNIX - File/Table/Data manipulation