Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Text extraction
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Text extraction Post 302848313 by Junaid Subhani on Thursday 29th of August 2013 03:09:38 AM
Old 08-29-2013
Thankyou.
This is the output I get:

Code:
awk -vf1=file1.txt -vf2=file2.txt '/^</ {print > f1} /^>/ {print > f2}' /var/tmp/cron_backups/debmed_tmp
awk: can't open file 
 record number 1

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Shell script for text extraction from a file

Hi All, I am new to Shell Scripting. I have a file consisting of XML messages.Each message is associated with a timestamp value(it is not a xml field).I need to extract\copy all messages in a particular time interval and put in another new file using Shell Scripting. My XML looks like... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: vignesh53
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

extraction of perfect text from file.

Hi All, I have a file of the following format. <?xml version='1.0' encoding='utf-8'?> <tomcat-users> <role rolename="tomcat"/> <role rolename="role1"/> <role rolename="manager"/> <role rolename="admin"/> <user username="tomcat" password="tomcat" roles="tomcat"/> <user... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: nua7
5 Replies

3. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

extraction of data from a text file which follows certain pattern

hi everybody, i have a file, in it I need to extract some data that follows a particular pattern.. For example: my file contains like now running Speak225 sep 22 mon 16:34:05 2008 -------------------------------- ... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: mohkris
4 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

String extraction from a text file