Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Create users from a text file by script Post 302843409 by prad_rocxx on Tuesday 13th of August 2013 06:01:32 AM
Old 08-13-2013
Create users from a text file by script

Hi All,

I am new to scripting, i want to create one script in which i can add users from a text file, assign them a default password like 123456.
It should be like:

Username= $i (it should take users from text file one by one)
Password : 123456(default for every user)

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

script to create users on many servers

Hi all, working on script to create a user acct on all our servers. for i in `cat $host_file`; do ssh $i /usr/bin/sudo /usr/bin/mkuser id='bpadm' gecos='NetBackup Admin' 2>&1 >> $log done error i get is: 3004-692 Error changing "id" to "bpadm" : Value is invalid. I have tried this in... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: dnidiffer
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

create a text file in a script

Hi, i want to create a text file (init${x}.ora) and write information to it via a korn shell script. Is it right to do it as shown below (the file doesnt exist yet)? x=$1 file="$ORC/dbs/init${x}.ora" echo "info here..." >> $file will this file get created? (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: n8575
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Script to create text file.

Hi all Below this is my script..I want to write the command to create a text file in my script below. If anyone know how to do...show me the result.I also want to do this script run automatically without type in terminal. Thanks. #!/usr/bin/sh... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: mastercar
6 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Need help in writing a script to create a new text file with specific data from existing two files