Sponsored Content
Operating Systems Linux Red Hat Find and Chown all files in a DIR except for Root Post 302824131 by gps1976 on Thursday 20th of June 2013 08:26:49 AM
Old 06-20-2013
Worked great

Thank you all for replying. Thanks Jim, the below command worked as needed.

find . -user user1 -exec chown user1:group1 {} \;

Verdepollo, I love the -ok option

find . -user user1 -ok chown user1:group1 {} \;

alister, how would the command(s) look? I'm a newbie, so I need it written in crayon sometimes...

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Setuid root and chown

I am trying to run chown and chmod from a script owned by root. The permissions are set to 4755 so that users can execute the script as root. However, when I run the script as a user other than root, I get "Operation not permitted" for both chown and chmod. Any ideas as to why this is? (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: johnmsucpe
6 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

root dir ? home dir ?

I am little bit confused when the words "root directory" and "home directory" and "parent directory" are used. Can anybody explains the difference. I am trying to list the names and protections levels and size of visible files in the root directory would it be correct if I just typed: ls... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: hinman
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Find and purge a files in a dir

HI All, I have recuirement to purge the files in a directory . In that directory i an having many sub-directory . When i use find command like find ~/work/test/insert -name "*.*" -mtime +12 it is listing the file not accesed before 12 , It also takes the subdirectories inside the... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: arunkumar_mca
7 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to find sticky bit dir/files