Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting How to grep on unique id which has request and response on different lines? Post 302822263 by random_thoughts on Monday 17th of June 2013 10:52:25 AM
Old 06-17-2013
Thanks Jotne ,

Can you pls put comment in first 2 lines so that I can understand. as I am new to awk. Thanks a lot for your time.Smilie

---------- Post updated at 09:53 AM ---------- Previous update was at 09:14 AM ----------

I think you are trying to get 13th column in the line, it doesnt work in my case, it's not 13th column actually.

---------- Post updated at 10:52 AM ---------- Previous update was at 09:53 AM ----------

Thanks, I got it working. I used gensub inside st array to filter uid.

Last edited by random_thoughts; 06-17-2013 at 10:36 AM..

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

grep unique occurrences

Hi, How do i grep unique occurrences from a file. I have a log file with multiple occurrences of 'foo' for instance. When i do: grep foo, I get all the lines that contain foo. Is there any way to get only one line for foo? Example file: foo at 09.01am Fri 11 May 2007 foo at 09.13am... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: mz043
6 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

grep for unique value

If i want to grep for a value in a file but display only unique value then which option can i use. ex: Values in the file IP <1.2.3.4> value <2> IP <1.2.3.4> value <2> IP <1.2.3.4> value <3> IP <1.2.3.5> value <1> i should get only the unique value (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: vls1210
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Remove All Lines Between Two Unique Lines

Hi all! Im wondering if its possible to remove all lines between two lines. Im working with a document like this: data1 data2 <Remove> data3 data4 </Remove> data5 data6 I need it to end up like this if that possible: data1 data2 data5 data6 There are multiple instances of... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Grizzly