Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Grep/awk/sed help
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Grep/awk/sed help Post 302815685 by Don Cragun on Saturday 1st of June 2013 05:32:00 PM
Old 06-01-2013
Is this a homework item?

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

need help!!!awk,grep,sed

hi all by using cat /etc/passwd I've got these output. ajh1ect:x:839:501:Anthony:/home/ajh1ect:/bin/bash mjb1ect:x:840:501:Michael:/home/mjb1ect:/bin/bash mv3ect:x:841:501:Marian:/home/mv3ect:/bin/bash now I want to see just the user ID and group ID. so what is the code will be with... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: nokia1100
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Sed | Awk | Grep

Can someone help me in understanding when to use SED, AWK and GREP (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: kn.naresh
3 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Awk, Sed and Grep

Hello. I am an older newbie trying to learn Unix. I have a task to perform and it entails counting lines of code. Currently, I am pointing to the directory where the files are contained and performing a 'find' on the file extensions (cpp, c, html, java, etc.) and piping that info with a 'wc -l'.... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: mastachef
2 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Grep Sed or Awk?

I have two .txt files one called good.txt and the other one is called bad.txt. Both contain email addresses in the following format: john@john.com bob@bob.com sarah@sarah.com Basically, I want to scrub good.txt against bad.txt and save the resulting output in scrubbed.txt meaning that if... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: holyearth
2 Replies

5. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How could i get this by sed or grep or awk ????