Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Operator test in bash
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Operator test in bash Post 302811581 by RudiC on Thursday 23rd of May 2013 05:37:20 PM
Old 05-23-2013
The < and > sign do a string compare: char 7 is greater than char 1, so the term is true, and it prints "Good Morning".
As MadeInGermany says, use -lt or -gt for numeric compares, and it flies.

Last edited by RudiC; 05-23-2013 at 06:37 PM.. Reason: typo

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

:0: unknown test operator

I have gotten the script up to this point and it works fine a system but when i copy it to another unix server running solaris 9 as the original one , its gives an error './mon_fs.sh: 0: unknown test operator' . (see script bellow) can the Gurus see to this as i am just a beginner with... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: ibroxy
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

unknown test operator

Hi, I have the following shell script : Nbr_BD_Link=0 Nbr_BD_Link=` sqlplus sysadm/${PSWD}@${DB_Name} << EOF | tail -4 | head -1 2>/dev/null set head off feedback off ; select count(*) from dba_db_links ; exit ; EOF ` echo ${Nbr_BD_Link} if ; then ... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: big123456
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

test: unknown operator status

hi I get test: unknown operator status if then echo "OK." return 0 else echo "not ok" 2>&1 exit -1 fi I tried to change "A" with 'A' --> same error I tried to change if , I am getting: (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: melanie_pfefer
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

TEST operator help

Hi I want to group like this but syntactic is not right ... Thanks if Like this below does not work properly .. if then : else usage exit 1 fi (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: zam
5 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

FIle (directory) test operator (bash)