Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Boy, is the shell powerful.
The Lounge What is on Your Mind? Boy, is the shell powerful. Post 302803269 by Corona688 on Monday 6th of May 2013 11:02:07 AM
Old 05-06-2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by wisecracker
Reading replies to questions, as an amateur, I have learnt a lot from you pros on here.
The shell in any of its guises is serioulsy poweful.

With so many transient and resident commands at one's disposal is there anything, non-GUI, that cannot be done inside a default shell and terminal?
The deep dark secret of high-level languages is that, even if you treat C/C++ as a dark-ages language and eschew it for java/python/shell/CAML/INTERCAL, nearly all the "Good Stuff" your programs depend on(like SOX, and BASH itself) are actually written in it. It's a powerful enough language to build other efficient languages and language addons, a rare feat; hardly anything would be much good without it.

Second, the shell is a good interface to the UNIX system, but a poor interface to other systems where not everything is a file... Imagine you didn't have utilities like SOX or an external /dev/dsp, how simple would your oscilloscope be then?

Shells are bad at networking. Even though BASH and KSH have some networking built into them these days(via a faked /dev/tcp), try building a network server without C help... You can't do it. Too many things missing.

Another thing the shell is poor at is performance. It's great at summoning other programs to do its work for it... not the greatest if you have to sum 3 million numbers in a flash with no outside help.

It's highly subject to system limits, like the length of a command-line, and the maximum length of an environment variable. You happen to get conveniently big ones in LINUX and OSX but aren't always so lucky.

If you don't have access to install things on your system, you will find the shell very limiting. No sox.