Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Unset variables in shell when it running two different loops Post 302802813 by hanson44 on Sunday 5th of May 2013 12:46:01 AM
Old 05-05-2013
Please go back and edit for those code tags. Smilie

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Variables being worked on inside of loops

I have a while read loop that reads values inside of a file and then performs an expr operation on each. Everything works fine, the way it's supposed to but, once the loop is finished, I can not access the variable that I used inside of the loop (but that variable was created outside of the... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: yongho
7 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

scripting headache... loops & variables

Surely there's an easier way to do this, lets see if anyone knows! I am new to scripting so go easy on me! I have the following script and at the moment it doesn't work and I believe the problem is that I am using a while loop within a while loop. When I run the script using sh -x I can see... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: StevePace
6 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to unset all variables in shell?

can I use unset to unset all the variables in a shell sciprt? VAR1=1 VAR2=2 VAR3=3 unset whether this unset will afftect any system variables? Thanks, (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: balamv
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to check exit status of unset variables

Hi All, Is there any way to check exit status of unset variables? In the following code PathX is not set and the script terminates without checking exit status. #!/bin/bash Path="/tmp/log" cd ${PathX:?} if ;then echo "Exit Status : non zero" else echo "Exit Status :... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: sussus2326
2 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

For loops with multiple variables