Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Basic doubt in UNIX
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Basic doubt in UNIX Post 302795483 by Pranaveen on Thursday 18th of April 2013 12:25:46 AM
Old 04-18-2013
Basic doubt in UNIX

Hi,

I'm new to this and very much interested to learn unix.
Can any one explain me the symbols y we use this is scripting(~ and $).
It would be great if some one explain with the eg.

Thanks
Naveen A

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Basic unix

okay, im having some trouble. Go ahead, call me a retard, but i keep getting stuck. Suppose i want to open a Picture of Jesus(for the sake of simplicity) using unix. I type: open Desktop/Pictures/Jesus.jpg It opens, and its all well and good. But, suppose i want to open a picture called Joe... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: HipCracka
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Certainly basic doubt about IF

On the below "IF" i test if the user have put the first argument. I also would like to test if the user have written a second argument. So, my doubt is: - How can i evaluate 2 conditions on a if statement? How is the OR created? - How can i to verify if the second argument is non... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: tmxps
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Shell scripting basic doubt

Hi, I have a script called sam.sh which consists of a single echo statement like this #/usr/bin/ksh echo "Mani" I changed the mode for the script by giving chmod a+x sam.sh. If I want to execute the scrpt by just giving the name at the command line "sam.sh", what should I necessarily do?... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: sendhilmani123
3 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Unix basic help