Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting How to use pipe operator as simple character in text file? Post 302774529 by ravi.trivedi on Saturday 2nd of March 2013 10:26:14 AM
Old 03-02-2013
Well, I will try your suggested answer in a while but have got a similar problem as well:

Code:
[root@SVHJ1315 SCRIPTING]# cat cmd
cat -n reduce_opt.sh "|" grep -iw
[root@SVHJ1315 SCRIPTING]# 
[root@SVHJ1315 SCRIPTING]# cat file
echo
[root@SVHJ1315 SCRIPTING]# cat command1 
#!/bin/sh

one=$(sed -n '1p' cmd)
two=$(sed -n '1p' file)
both=`echo $one $two`
echo `$both`
[root@SVHJ1315 SCRIPTING]# ls -lrt command1 
-rwxr-xr-x. 1 root root 94 Mar  2 20:58 command1
[root@SVHJ1315 SCRIPTING]# sh command1 
cat: invalid option -- 'i'
Try `cat --help' for more information.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX Desktop Questions & Answers

Wall, Write, select users, pipe a text file, HELP Before I'm Bald!

OK... I'm fairly new to unix having the admin handed to me on a platter w/almost no training. However, being a programmer, I do pick up things fairly easily, but this one is getting the best of me. I have a unix server that runs multiple versions of the same ERP system, hand crafted for our... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: chimodel
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Problem working with Pipe Delimited Text file

Hello all: I have a following textfile data with name inst1.txt HDR|ABCD|10-13-2008 to 10-19-2008.txt|10-19-2008|XYZ DTL|H|5464-1|0|02-02-2008|02-03-2008||||F||||||||| DTL|D|5464-1|1|02-02-2008|02-03-2008|1||JJJ DTL|D|5464-1|2|02-02-2008|02-03-2008|1||JJJ... (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: ravi0435
9 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Replacing a field in pipe delimited TEXT File