Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting (awk?) print multiple lines on one line Post 302762315 by Yoda on Monday 28th of January 2013 10:28:43 AM
Old 01-28-2013
Code:
awk 'BEGIN{FS=","}/^-/&&/report/&&!/^records/{gsub(/[-]+/,"");ORS=FS;}/^records/{ORS=" "}/^-/&&!/report/{$0="";ORS=RS;}1' filename

Last edited by Yoda; 01-28-2013 at 11:37 AM.. Reason: regex correction

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

print multiple lines with awk

Hi everyone! I'm not new to Unix, but I've never used awk before. I tried to look up this information on several sites and forums, I also looked in the documentation but I haven't found a solution yet. I would like to print the previous 3 lines before and the following 4 lines after the... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: djcsabus
6 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

awk find a string, print the line 2 lines below it

I am parsing a nagios config, searching for a string, and then printing the line 2 lines later (the "members" string). Here's the data: define hostgroup{ hostgroup_name chat-dev alias chat-dev members thisisahostname } define hostgroup{ ... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: mglenney
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

AWK print lines into multiple files

Hi, i have an input text file like this: Student 1 maths science = Student 2 maths science = Student 3 maths science i would like to print each student information into separate files, each student id is separated by "=". (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: saint2006
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Can't print multiple lines inside awk :(

Hi Friends, I have small issue with following code snippet. I am trying call one function inside awk in which the function inturn will echo few lines. However when i ran script its throwing an error saying "nawk: syntax error at source line 1". #!/bin/sh eval input=$@ while read... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Shahul