Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting How to use variable inside array? Post 302755219 by Jayavinoth on Saturday 12th of January 2013 08:47:42 AM
Old 01-12-2013
Linux How to use variable inside array?

I tried to use variable inside an array variable, but its not working as expected.Smilie
Code:

ENV1[0]=123
ENV1[1]=789
ENV1[2]=120
ENV2[0]=567
if [ $1 -eq 1 ]
then
name=ENV1
echo "${name[0]}"
echo "${name[1]}"
echo "${name[2]}"
else
name=ENV1
echo "${name[1]}"
fi

Output: ./val.sh 1
<blank line>

123 is for "${name[0]}" and blank line is for "${name[1]}". I want 789 for "${name[1]}" and 120 for "${name[2]}" as output.

Please help to get the correct output and i am a beginner. Thanks

Last edited by Jayavinoth; 01-12-2013 at 09:54 AM..

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

ksh: A part of variable A's name is inside of variable B, how to update A?

This is what I tried: vara=${varb}_count (( vara += 1 )) Thanks for help (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: pa3be
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

looping a array inside inside ssh is not working, pls help

set -A arr a1 a2 a3 a4 # START ssh -xq $Server1 -l $Username /usr/bin/ksh <<-EOS integer j=0 for loop in ${arr} do printf "array - ${arr}\n" (( j = j + 1 )) j=`expr j+1` done EOS # END ========= this is not giving me correct output. I... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: reldb
5 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

split and making an array inside another array

I want to run an awk split on a value that has been pushed through an array and I was wondering what the syntax should be?? e.g. running time strings through an array and trying to examine just minutes: 12:25:30 10:15:13 08:55:23 awk ' NR==FNR{ ... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: dcfargo
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

using array inside awk