Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Script to detect dynamic ip change and update to config file Post 302748635 by Shaan_Shaan on Wednesday 26th of December 2012 12:14:19 PM
Old 12-26-2012
Script to detect dynamic ip change and update to config file

Hi All,

I am newbie here and request your assistance.

I have a service running on public ip, but since I have a dynamic IP it keeps on changing and every time I need to manually get the new ip and add to the config file and restart the service. This has become bit time consuming.

Hence, I am looking for a script that can do the following action.

Detect IP address in ppp0 whenever it changes -> capture the new IP address and update that to my config file and save -> Restart my service.

Thanking you.
Regards
Shaan

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

I wanted to update a script, more dynamic (just say no to hard coding)...

currently it has the following: bdumpN=`ll /home/apps/oracle/admin/DBprod/bdump/DBprod_j* | grep "$Cdate" | wc -l` If I pass the DBname, I would not have to hardcode it in the script... I can capture the database name by adding the following: DBname=$1 The problem is, I have been unable... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: mr_manny
2 Replies

2. UNIX and Linux Applications

Autosys Config file update on a read-only filer

Hi To All Genius out there, We are running autosys application on solaris 10. In autosys we have a configuration file that contains an Autosys instance configuration data and is located on a NFS filer on which we have a read-only access. Our Autosys environment is on a dual server... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: whn_chips_r_dwn
0 Replies

3. Solaris

Autosys Config file update on a read-only filer