Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Bash Scipting (New); Run multiple greps > multiple files Post 302747573 by LDHB2012 on Friday 21st of December 2012 04:12:39 PM
Old 12-21-2012
Bash Scipting (New); Run multiple greps > multiple files

Hi everyone,

I'm new to the forums, as you can probably tell... I'm also pretty new to scripting and writing any type of code.

I needed to know exactly how I can grep for multiple strings, in files located in one directory, but I need each string to output to a separate file.

So I'd imagine I'd make a separate text file with each string that I want to grep. ex:
Code:
food1
food2
food3

Then i would use a loop function to grep all files in directory /Desktop/Blah/*, and output to a file named "the string i grepped for".

I would greatly appreciate guidance on this, as loops confuse the hell outa me and i'm not sure what "x" means in the following:

Code:
for x in 'cat /Desktop/Blah/*'; grep 'point to strings file' ..........

Where would $x go? Any guidance is helpful. Thanks everyone....

-David

Last edited by Scrutinizer; 12-26-2012 at 09:52 AM.. Reason: code tags

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

when I try to run rm on multiple files I have problem to delete files with space

Hello when I try to run rm on multiple files I have problem to delete files with space. I have this command : find . -name "*.cmd" | xargs \rm -f it doing the work fine but when it comes across files with spaces like : "my foo file.cmd" it refuse to delete it why? (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: umen
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Run Multiple Functions over SSH (BASH)