Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Selecting highest value within a range Post 302740723 by markymarkg123 on Thursday 6th of December 2012 04:33:02 PM
Old 12-06-2012
Thanks, brother, much obliged!

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

sort with highest wc

Hi :) I'm a unix beginner and i've recently got an assignment to write up a script to print the most common IP address that made requests from a webserver. I'm really lost in this one...and if someone could pls tell me where to start i'll be really greatful ! thanx (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: ymf
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Selecting files between a user inputed date range

Hi all! I'm working on a KSH script to select files between a user inputed date range (stored in a variable) and then move them and unzip them. I'm stuck at how to get the files between the user inputed date range selected. Any help would be greatly appreciated! The files are as such: ... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: kelldan
6 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Printing highest value from one column

Hi, I have a file that looks like this: s6 98 s6 91 s6 56 s5 32 s5 10 s5 4 So what I want to do is print only the highest value for each value in the column: So the file will look like this: s6 98 s5 32 Thanks (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: phil_heath
4 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

print range between two patterns if it contains a pattern within the range

I want to print between the range two patterns if a particular pattern is present in between the two patterns. I am new to Unix. Any help would be greatly appreciated. e.g. Pattern1 Bombay Calcutta Delhi Pattern2 Pattern1 Patna Madras Gwalior Delhi Pattern2 Pattern1... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: joyan321
2 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

Extract the highest number out