Sponsored Content
Special Forums UNIX Desktop Questions & Answers Question about a VIM script from a absolute noob Post 302736753 by DanableLector on Wednesday 28th of November 2012 12:11:25 AM
Old 11-28-2012
@Joseph TKLee: Thank you for such a quick response. I created this script.. err rather copied it.. in my bin directory, which is completely empty, save for this script. I am going out on a limb here but I am guessing my directory should have a list of users somewhere inside in order for it to work properly? (apologies.. I am about as new to this as it gets.)

---------- Post updated at 11:11 PM ---------- Previous update was at 11:03 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joseph_TKLee
run the follows on your environment. ( not sure which one is correct $user or $USER in your environment)
Code:
# echo $user
# echo $USER
# w | grep $user | cut -c19-30

You will get an idea what it is meant to do.

Cheers,

Last edited by DanableLector; 11-28-2012 at 01:12 AM.. Reason: n/a

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Programming

Question about compiling (noob)

I'm just getting started to lean C and I'm using Ubuntu today I found a tutorial at this site: http://einstein.drexel.edu/courses/CompPhys/General/C_basics/c_tutorial.html and I got an error after compiling the fist code: #include < stdio.h> void main() { printf("\nHello World\n"); } ... (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: arya6000
9 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Noob sorting question

Ok here is the deal, I have a command given to me by some systems guy who I cannot get ahold of on the weekend without paying him alot of money to help me. I need to get this done before Monday as I am just getting pummeled by DOS attacks. The comand given was.... netstat -ntu | awk '{print... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Hexabah
1 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Noob question on comparing #'s.