Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Need explanation on Perl Fork Post 302725533 by liyakathali on Friday 2nd of November 2012 10:10:31 AM
Old 11-02-2012
Need explanation on Perl Fork

Hi,

I am breaking my head to understand the below line of code in perl:
Code:
next if $pid = fork;    # Parent goes to next server.
    die "fork failed: $!" unless defined $pid;

Can anyone please explain me in detail as I am a slow learner?

Thanks,
Ali.

Last edited by Franklin52; 03-28-2013 at 04:20 AM.. Reason: Please use code tags for data and code samples

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

new to perl.. how do I do this ? fork/ threads ?

I have never coded in perl before (just started today morning :). I need to write a perl program to automate a task. Here is how I do it manually: Start a program in my home dir. Now if I want to execute another program while this one is still running, what I would do is go to another... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: the_learner
6 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

tr explanation please

how does below tr command replace nonletters with newlines? I think I understand tr -cs '\n' part.. but what is A-Za-z\' <--- what is this?? tr -cs A-Za-z\' '\n' | -c --complement -s, --squeeze-repeats replace each input sequence of a repeated character that is... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: convenientstore
0 Replies

3. UNIX and Linux Applications

need explanation

Hi am having a c pgm. It has the include files (unistd.h,sys/types.h,win.h,scr.h,curses.h,stdarg.h and color.h). I don't know the purpose of these include files. will u plz explain me. (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Mari.kb
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Perl fork