Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Move groups of files
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Move groups of files Post 302716777 by Chubler_XL on Wednesday 17th of October 2012 02:59:14 AM
Old 10-17-2012
Try this it just echo's what is going to do - remove echo's if your happy.

Code:
#!/bin/bash
start=14
end=27
sz=30
cd /path/to/parent/dirs
for dir in $(find . -type d -name RawData)
do
        [ -d ../sorted_files/$dir ] || echo mkdir -p ../sorted_files/$dir
        b=0
        for file in $(find $dir -type f -print)
        do
           let b=b+1
           if [ $b -ge $start -a $b -le $end ]
           then
               echo mv $file ../../sorted_files/$file
           fi
           [ $b -ge $sz ] && b=0
        done
done

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to check files and move the results to differents files?

Hi, I am a newbie to shell scripting. here is my objective: 1)The shell program should take 2 parameters - ie-> DestinationFolder, WebFolder 2)Destination folder contains few files that has to has be verified and deleted. 3)WebFolder is a folder containing a list of master files 4)It... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: sandhyagupta
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

To write a shell script which groups files with certain pattern, create a tar and zip

Hi Guru's, I have to write a shell script which groups file names based upon the certain matching string pattern, then creates the Tar file for that particular group of files and then zips the Tar file created for the respective group of files. For example, In the given directory these files... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: rahu_sg
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

to find the last updated file from different groups of files.