Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Tracking change inside the script Post 302715655 by jim mcnamara on Monday 15th of October 2012 07:46:57 AM
Old 10-15-2012
I'm confused.

1. Who owns/runs the crontab? oracle? root?
2. How many users on the system know the password to the account that owns the crontab file?

Since crontab executes user-written scripts and those can change at any time so:
3. Who owns the scripts that are changing?
4. Are the crontab entries themselves changing?

cron does not change scripts, people do. cron does not change it's own entries, people do. If you can tell us more maybe we can help you find the problem.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Script for tracking from directory to file

Hi , I am pretty new to scripting, and I trying to write a script which is not working as I expect to .... I am trying to write a script which starts from top directory and tracks all the folders and sub-folders till it reaches a file and gives the list of files as output for a given... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Rahul00000
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Shell script in tracking both the passed and failed login in a unix server

Can you help me in providing the following output or a quite similar to this from a shell script ? *** Logins Summary Information ***** ---------------------------------- Failed Login Attempts for Invalid Accounts Date Time IP-ADD Account ... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: linuxgeek
0 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Another question for tracking failed logins via script

Hello Experts, I have this initial shell script that tracks failed login attempts: #!/bin/bash #Fetch failed user logins to file failed-logins.txt grep -i failed /var/log/secure | awk '{ print $1, $2" ", $3" ", $9" ", $11 }' > failed-logins.txt #Splitting the failed-logins in... (10 Replies)
Discussion started by: linuxgeek
10 Replies

4. Red Hat