Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Unix Piping Problem
Homework and Emergencies Homework & Coursework Questions Unix Piping Problem Post 302705893 by Corona688 on Tuesday 25th of September 2012 04:36:10 PM
Old 09-25-2012
Nope. it runs ls -r. Since ls doesn't read anything you type into it, just lists files, that's pretty pointless.

The assignment told you what command to feed ls's output into -- sort. There's an actual command named that, which does what it says on the label. Smilie

You could have just done ls -r in the very first exec to have it list in reverse order from the start, avoiding having to launch a second process. But then you wouldn't be learning how pipes work...

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Piping in UNIX

All, I am a UNIX novice with a question that I hope you can help me with. I have a UNIX application called "Tole" that formats and displays specific information about customers. I can display the information for up to 30 customers by seperating customer IDs using commas in this format: Tole -c... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: simo007
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

problem with exit code when piping

i am writing a script to perform some mysqldumps and gzip them. The problem I am running into is that if the user specifies a database that doesn't exist, the error the mysql engine produces is still piped into gzip, and the exit code returned is 0. If I don't pipe into gzip, an exit code... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: bitoffish
4 Replies

3. Programming

Java with Unix (Redirection + Piping)

Hi, To explain this question I will have to go into a bit of detail. I hope you don't mind. currently I have a log handler (an already compiled c++ version) and what it does is makes a log file and writes all the unix output (echo, etc) of a script to that log file. To me the log_handler is... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: fluke_perf
3 Replies

4. Programming