Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Passing a variable to kill command Post 302701891 by Corona688 on Monday 17th of September 2012 12:42:44 PM
Old 09-17-2012
Whenever you have cut | grep | awk | sed | grep -v | kitchen | sink, you should replace that with awk. It can do it all at once, it's not a glorified cut.

Code:
ps -ef | awk '/[a]pache/ { print $2 }' | xargs kill

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Passing the command line argument in a variable

Hi, I am new to unix. Is their a way to pass the output of the line below to a variable var1. ls -1t | head -1. I am trying something like var1=ls -1t | head -1, but I get error. Situation is: I get file everyday through FTP in my unix box. I have to write a script that picks up first... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: rkumar28
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Passing a variable in SED getting command garbled

I fairly new to SED. I have tried many different variations of this line of code and even breaking it down into its components and running them separately. They work individually without variables but when I place the $todbname variable it will either inserts the text "connect to $todbname"... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: edewerth
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Passing a variable to sudo sed command

hi, dataParse(){ line="$@" name="cat /etc/passwd | grep "$line": | cut -f6 -d':'" eval $name > sam.txt 2>&1 sudo -u $line sed -n 's/data-1/&/p' $name/test.xml >> sam1.txt } Here i getting the homedir of the accounts and is set in name variable.which returns "/home/raju" which i... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: sachin.tendulka
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

passing variable values to awk command