Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Extract three substrings from a logfile Post 302699621 by pamu on Wednesday 12th of September 2012 05:12:51 AM
Old 09-12-2012
Try something this..

Code:
awk -F '[ ",&]' '{for (i=1;i<=NF;i++) {if ( $i ~ /^IMBOSS/ ) { print $1,$i,$(NF-2) }}}' file

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Breaking strings into Substrings

I'm only new to shell programming and have been given a task to do a program in .sh, however I've come to a point where I'm not sure what to do. This is my code so far: # process all arguments (i.e. loop while $1 is present) while ; do # echo "Arg is $1" case $1 in -h*|-H*) echo "help... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: switch
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Extract large list of substrings

I have a very long string (millions of characters). I have a file with start location and length that is thousands of rows long: Start Length 5 10 16 21 44 100 215 37 ... I'd like to extract the substring that corresponds to the start and length from each row of the list: I tried... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: dcfargo
7 Replies

3. AIX

Substrings and the likes in AIX 4.2 ?

In AIX 4.2, are there any shell commands to do substrings and the text like manipulation commands ? I want to take an error log where errors are multi-ligned and convert them into single lines to ease tracking/monitoring. I may need to shorten them out too. If I can manage to put them into an... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Browser_ice
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

extracting substrings

Hi guys, I am stuck in this problem. Please help. I have two files. FILE1 (with records starting from '>' ) >TC1723_3 similar to Scific_A7Q9Q3 EMSPSQDYCDDYFKLTYPCTAGAQYYGRGALPVYWNYNYGAIGEALKLDLLNHPEYIEQN ATMAFQAAIWRWMNPMKKGQPSAHDAFVGNWKP >TC214_2 similar to Quiet_Ref100_Q8W2B2 Cluster;... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: smriti_shridhar
1 Replies