Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Extract three substrings from a logfile Post 302699609 by beta17 on Wednesday 12th of September 2012 04:55:20 AM
Old 09-12-2012
Hi Tuxidow

i'm not a scripting guru but maybe this is helpful for you:

Code:
#!/bin/bash

# save in the variable FILE the path to your "log" file
FILE=text

cat $FILE|while read line
do
 IP=`cat $FILE | awk '{print $1}'`
 IMBOSS=`cat $FILE|sed 's+.*IMBOSS=++g'|sed 's/&/ /g'|awk '{print $1}'`
 LASTIP=`cat $FILE |awk '{print $NF}' |sed 's/"//g'|sed 's/,/ /g'|awk '{print $1}'`
echo $IP "IMBOSS="$IMBOSS $LASTIP
done

there is certainly antother way to get the value from IMBOSS, in this case the scripts works only if the first character after IMBOSS=<some value> is a $ !!
sorry i'm not a sed expert ;-)
Code:
[root@saxmgt01 tmp]# ./script.sh
66.249.73.11 IMBOSS=Z05 81.104.178.164

try it and let me know

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Breaking strings into Substrings

I'm only new to shell programming and have been given a task to do a program in .sh, however I've come to a point where I'm not sure what to do. This is my code so far: # process all arguments (i.e. loop while $1 is present) while ; do # echo "Arg is $1" case $1 in -h*|-H*) echo "help... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: switch
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Extract large list of substrings

I have a very long string (millions of characters). I have a file with start location and length that is thousands of rows long: Start Length 5 10 16 21 44 100 215 37 ... I'd like to extract the substring that corresponds to the start and length from each row of the list: I tried... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: dcfargo
7 Replies

3. AIX

Substrings and the likes in AIX 4.2 ?