Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: GSUB/Regex Help
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting GSUB/Regex Help Post 302689529 by Don Cragun on Tuesday 21st of August 2012 02:51:52 PM
Old 08-21-2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by msabhi
Can you please try this :

Code:
awk '{gsub(/[\|\(\)\\\/\;\:\47\`\"]*/," ",$0);}1' input_file

Caution: This might be a very naive one since am a beginner hereSmilie
47 stands for '
Quote:
..its a octal value
That almost works. You don't need (or want) the asterisk in a call to gsub(). It matches every string of zero or more matches, which in this case effectively adds a space before any of the characters in the input that aren't in the list. You have several backslash characters escaping characters that aren't special inside a bracket expression, but they shouldn't hurt anything. Also, if the last arg to gsub() is left off, it uses $0 as a default.

The following line works:
Code:
awk '{gsub(/[|()\\\/;:\47`"]/," ");}1' input_file

Note, however, that this solution won't work on a system with EBCDIC as the codeset for the C Locale. (I think IBM still supports systems like this.) On a system using EBCDIC, you'd need to use \175 instead of \47. If you want to put this in an awk program file (where the script won't have quote processing performed by the shell before awk sees it, the following line should work:

script:
Code:
 {gsub(/[|()\\\/;:'`"]/," ");print}

Code:
awk -f script input_file

will work without codeset dependencies.

Last edited by vgersh99; 08-21-2012 at 03:58 PM.. Reason: fixed code tags
These 2 Users Gave Thanks to Don Cragun For This Post:

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Gsub and nawk

Hello I have problem with reg-expr and function gsub(); File that I want to preprocess look like this: int table ; printf(" variable : ", variable) ; Using nawk I try something like this: for ( .... ) { line = $0 reg_expr = "\.\=]*" "" variable "" "\.\=]*" ; gsub( reg_expr... (1 Reply)