Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting How to update an entry of another file in a Shell script? Post 302675195 by isaacniu on Sunday 22nd of July 2012 06:34:56 AM
Old 07-22-2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by elixir_sinari
Like this?
Code:
name="Michael"
pass="newpassword"
sed '/^\('"$name"': \).*/s//\1'"$pass"'/' users.passwords > temp
mv temp users.passwords

Hi,

Thanks for your reply - that works fine.. Just one more question, if the entry in my file is like below,

Code:
export David=???
export Michael=password
export Frank=???

and I would wish to transform it to be like
Code:
export David=???
export Michael=new_password
export Frank=???

then how should I modify that sentence? Sorry I'm new to sed

Thanks!

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Help shell script to loop through files update ctl file to be sql loaded

I am currently trying to find a way to loop through files in a given directory and for each file modify a ctl file and sql load it. I have been using the sed command to change the infile, badfile parameters of the control file. I have not yet tried to sql load it. Requirement: files are ftp to... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: dba_nh
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

shell script to edit file and delete entry

Can anyone provide me a shell script to edit a xml file and delete one entry. To do manually i can edit(vi editor) the file and 'dd' will delete the file.But I wiluld to know if I can do with a script. Thanks in advance Tannu (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: tannu
6 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

update file contents using shell script

Hi, I am having a file which contains as below Names(aaaa ,bbbb ,cccc ,dddd) now i want the file to be updated with new value 'eeee' as below Names(aaaa ,bbbb ,cccc ,dddd ,eeee) Is there a way to script this ? Thanks, (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: drams
5 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers