Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: xhost
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers xhost Post 302672927 by Brandon9000 on Tuesday 17th of July 2012 09:09:42 AM
Old 07-17-2012
xhost

Some of my users find that a graphical program I have given them will not run until they type:

Code:
xhost +local:username

where, of course, they substitute in their own user name. My question is what the word "local" is doing there and whether it would work as well without it.

Thanks in advance for any light you can shed.

Last edited by Scott; 07-17-2012 at 10:39 AM.. Reason: Code tags

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

xhost command

Hi, Is there a way to know if user used the xhost command in is current session and to which hosts/users the user give access. (xhost + or xhost + host1 ...) Thanks, Itay. (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: itayst
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

xhost: unable to open display????

I am a dba, not an sa, that recently had to take over administering an HP-UX server. Needless to say I am not in a comfortable area, but found out that of all people I am the most knowledgeable on unix here .... scary thought I know. I am having troubles exporting my display to a Windows XP... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: soestx
5 Replies

3. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

xhost unable to open display

I am trying to install ORACLE 10g database on HP-UNIX 11.11 I am running OUI runinstaller from exceed terminal from windows PC. I have set DISPLAY=IPAddress of PC:0.0 When installer starts it is giving me error of display (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: ymg
5 Replies

4. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Xhost and ILO