Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: FIND w/ multiple expressions
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting FIND w/ multiple expressions Post 302672675 by nitrobass24 on Monday 16th of July 2012 06:37:06 PM
Old 07-16-2012
FIND w/ multiple expressions

For reference i am still a newb at scripting, but i have what i think is a complex issue.

I need to run a FIND on / to identify all files and print them to >> $TEMPFILE
I need to avoid MVFS
I need to avoid /var/tmp/nastmp/

I was trying find / \( -type d -name nastmp -prune \) -a \( -fstype mvfs \) -print

But this is not working at all. I can get them to work separately but i need both conditions to be met.

Can someone point me in the right direction?

Last edited by nitrobass24; 07-16-2012 at 07:45 PM..

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Searching multiple files with multiple expressions

I am using a DEC ALPHA running Digital UNIX (formly DEC OSF/1) and ksh. I have a directory with hundreds of files that only share the extension .rpt. I would like to search that directory based on serial number and operation number and only files that meet both requirements to be printed out. I... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: Anahka
6 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Output section of file between two expressions multiple times

Attached is the exact ouput of a vmware VDR log file I am working with but what I am trying to achieve is as follows: I need to output sections of the file using the string "Normal backup" as the start and "Duration" as the end to seperate files so I can then manipulate them further to create... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: jelloir
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Regular Expressions -- Find spaces outside