Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Could someone help with setting loops? Post 302668633 by tukuyomi on Monday 9th of July 2012 04:43:42 PM
Old 07-09-2012
Here is a start (it's #!/bin/sh, but it should run with bash too):
Code:
#!/bin/sh

FS='|'
file=; while [ "$file" != 'done' ]; do
	[ "$file" ] && files="$files$file$FS"
	read -p 'What is the name of the file in the checkout directory?' file
done

IFS="$FS"; for file in $files; do 
	read -p "What is the target directory for $file to be promoted to?" tar
	[ "$tar" = 'done' ] && break
	[ "$tar" ] && tars="$tars$tar|"
done
exit 0

For the rest, I don't really understand all the requierments Smilie
This User Gave Thanks to tukuyomi For This Post:

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

no more loops

Hello Guys I need some help with my script I'm not very good at this, hope you can point me in the right direction. My idea, to write a file with some router commands and use it on a script for me to run on a demand basis, ( or added to the cron, if I get it to work). The below script works,... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: tony3101
5 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

two loops

Hi, how can I use "for" to have two loops : this is my script : for i in (A B C) do for j in (a b c) do echo $i$j done done #End I want to print out Aa Ab Ac .... But I have error message : syntax error at line 1 : `(' unexpected Many thanks before. How should I use "for" ?? (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: big123456
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

while loops

Hi I've a file like so: Now, I want to read my file and take ex. the Media ID and the Type for each groups of Media (Media1,Media2,...,Media(n): cat /tmp/file|\ while read FILE do while $(FILE|cut -d: -f1)=Media$i do #here will be some test, ex: #if Media ID < 23 ... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: nymus7
4 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Help with the 2 for loops