Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Regex to Parse data
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Regex to Parse data Post 302662601 by Chubler_XL on Tuesday 26th of June 2012 09:14:25 PM
Old 06-26-2012
Using awk:

Code:
awk '{
   gsub(/)/, ", "$1")");
   gsub(", "$1") VALUES", ", NEWCOLUMN) VALUES");
}
gsub("^"$1".* INSERT","INSERT")' file

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Parse a range of data

Hello, I have a file which has a range of date like: 00:00 test 00:01 test2 00:02 test3 00:03 test4 00:04 test5 00:05 test6 Using input (stdin) i would like to parse the data 00:01 to 00:04. The output file should be like this: 00:01 test2 00:02 test3 00:03 test4 00:04 test5 ... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: BufferExploder
5 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

parse data using sh script

Hi, I am a newbie to unix/shell scripting and i have a question on how to parse a txt file using perl in a sh script. I have a txt file that contains hundreds of lines with data like this.... X, Y, Latitude, Longitude 1, 142, -38.000000, -91.000000, 26.348 2, 142, 60.000000, -90.000000,... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: moonbaby
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

regex/shell script to Parse through XML Records

Hi All, I have been working on something that doesn't seem to have a clear regex solution and I just wanted to run it by everyone to see if I could get some insight into the method of solving this problem. I have a flat text file that contains billing records for users, however the records... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: Jerrad
5 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Extract and parse data between two strings