Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Need to insert text(constant) at the beginning of file Post 302660909 by jclanc8 on Saturday 23rd of June 2012 06:07:46 PM
Old 06-23-2012
Need to insert text(constant) at the beginning of file

I am very new to scripting and I know this request is simple but I am having no luck with it.

I have a file a.dat with the following data in it.
aa
bb
cc
dd

I need to run a script that will take each line of a.dat and put dsjc/ubin/ in front of each record, so the output looks like

dsjc/ubin/aa
dsjc/ubin/bb
dsjc/ubin/cc
dsjc/ubin/dd

Thanks in advance for your help.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Add text to beginning of file

Hi I need to add text to the beginning of a file in the same way that cat will put file contents at the end of a file. I want to do this with many files eg cat newtext >> /usr/home/*/*.bat Any ideas? (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: donkey
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Insert two strings at the beginning and at the end of each line of a file

Hi, excuse me for my poor english. My problem is that: I have a File i want to add to each line of that file two strings: one at the beginning of the line, one at the ending. string1="abcd" string2="efgh" i want $string1 content $string2 for each line. Is that possible? (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Linux-fueled
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to insert some constant text at beginig of each line within a text file.

Dear Folks :), I am new to UNIX scripting and I do not know how can I insert some text in the first column of a UNIX text file at command promtp. I can do this in vi editor by using this command :g/^/s//BBB_ e,g I have a file named as Test.dat and it containins below text: michal... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: Muhammad Afzal
4 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Need to insert new text and change existing text in a file using SED